Louisiana Federation for Children honors Louisiana’s Educational Choice Champions

28The Louisiana Federation for Children (LFC) recognized the bold leadership of bipartisan members of Louisiana’s Legislature who have supported educational choice for Louisiana’s children. The “Champions for Choice” event, held at the Jimmie Davis House in Baton Rouge, honored 77 legislative leaders with special tributes for their distinctive leadership in protecting and expanding educational choice.

“Thanks to the strong support of our state’s bipartisan leaders, Louisiana families continue to have access to meaningful education options,” said Ann Duplessis, president of LFC. “Our state’s legislators recognize that providing educational choice positively impacts the lives of low-income families across the state.”

Each honoree received a personalized letter from a student in the Louisiana Scholarship Program. Students thanked lawmakers for supporting the program and described how it is impacting their lives.

Photo: Senator Mike Walsworth receives “Champions for Choice” award from Lutheran High School student Geno White and his father Kirk White.

2015 Educational Choice Champions

President John Alario, Robert Adley, Brett Allain, Jody Amedee, Conrad Appel, Sherri Smith Buffington, Norby Chabert, Dan Claitor, Page Cortez, A.G. Crowe, Jack Donahue, David Heitmeier, Eric LaFleur, Elbert Lee Guillory, Ronnie Johns, Gerald Long, Danny Martiny, J.P. Morrell, Blade Morrish, Ben Nevers, Barrow Peacock, Jonathan Perry, Gary Smith, John Smith, Mike Walsworth, Greg Tarver, Rick Ward, Bodi White

House of Representatives
Speaker Chuck Kleckley, Bryan Adams, Austin Badon, Taylor Barras, Johnny Berthelot, Robert Billiot, Stuart Bishop, Wesley Bishop, Chris Broadwater, Richard Burford, Henry Burns, Tim Burns, Thomas Carmody, Steve Carter, Gordon Dove, Mike Danahay, Franklin Foil, Ray Garofalo, Brett Geymann, John Guinn, Lance Harris, Chris Hazel, Cameron Henry, Bob Hensgens, Valerie Hodges, Paul Hollis, Mike Huval, Barry Ivey, Patrick Jefferson, Nancy Landry, Walt Leger, Chris Leopold, Joe Lopinto, Nick Lorusso, Helena Moreno, Jay Morris, Erich Ponti, Steve Pugh, Steve Pylant, Joel Robideaux, Clay Schexnayder, John Schroder, Alan Seabaugh, Rob Shadoin, Scott Simon, Julie Stokes, Kirk Talbot, Major Thibaut, Lenar Whitney


The Louisiana Federation for Children (LFC), the state’s voice for educational choice, is a project of the American Federation for Children and the Alliance for School Choice. LFC is dedicated to promoting educational choice by protecting, growing and expanding scholarship programs for low and middle-income children.

Ann Duplessis is a former state legislator where she served on the Senate Education Committee and fought successfully to expand educational options for Louisiana’s children by authoring and supporting numerous pieces of school choice legislation. Duplessis resides in New Orleans and remains active in numerous civic activities.